Sustainable development

 The Taragalte Concept continues to grow and evolve but the over arching goals remain constant which are to contribute to the strengthen socio-cultural ties, live in accordance with nature and no matter how modest benefit the region economically. 

Cultural Exchange:

The Taragalte Cultural Exchange programme is a space for social design and cultural events. Through the programme a new space for traditional art and design has been created and continues to evolve. Workshops with local craftsmen/women in collaboration with national/international artists and designers have and will continue to create new possibilities and sustainable products. One such programme is the recent Carpet of Life where local women use traditional and modern crafts to turn old clothes (from developed nations) into a vibrant and colourful – Carpet of Life.

M’hamid is a mystical place offering national and international artists the space and inspiration to create. These artists-in-residence have the opportunity to be inspired by the traditional nomadic lifestyle. Visitors and the local community can profit from the outcome of workshops with artists-in-residence through exhibitions and product sale.

Environment :

The Draa Valley has long been known for its oases and palm groves. The environment has shaped the culture which is known for cultivating date palms, fruit trees, vegetables and cereals. Over the last decade though this melting pot of ethnicities has suffered from the effects of desertification while welcoming more and more tourists, consequently tourism is now considered to be one of the most important development tool in this region.

Persistent drought over the past 30 years has forced many nomads to abandon their traditional ways. Given the magnitude of the challenge, “Le Petit Prince” through awareness and action contributes to the re-vegetation of the local ecosystems and in doing so facilitates economic development in M’Hamid.

As part of the Taragalte Concept, one such initiative is proving to be successful. In partnership with the Sahara Roots and Zaila Association we (the local people, tourists and festival goers) plant trees to combat the desertification while simultaneously educating each other about the fragility of the desert fauna and flora.

The Taragalte Festival :

Now in its 5th Edition – The Taragalte Festival puts emphasis on reigniting cultural exchange between the communities of the North African Sahara and the rest of the world.

Over the 3 days we showcase; traditional and modern music, celebrate legends, share stories, and combine our many customs – bringing the nostalgia to life. During the festival Le Petit Prince is the Residence Artistic (artists-in-residence), acting as a hub for the artists to meet, share ideas and co-create.

Développement durable

Le concept Taragalte continue de grandir et d’évoluer, mais ses objectifs primordiaux restent les mêmes. Ils se dessinent, principalement, par le renforcement des liens socio-culturels, l’harmonisation de la vie avec la nature et le bénéfice économique, même minime, à en tirer pour la région.

Échange culturel:

Le programme d’échange culturel de Taragalte est un espace de conception d’événements culturels et sociaux. Grâce à celui-ci, un nouvel espace pour l’art et le design traditionnel a été conçu et évolue toujours:  des ateliers pour artisans/femmes locales ont vu le jour en collaboration avec des artistes et des designers nationaux/ internationaux qui continuent de créer de nouvelles possibilités de production durable.  Par exemple, le projet Carpet of Life implique les femmes de la région dans la transformation de vieux vêtements pour la création d’un tapis vibrant et coloré. Ceci, générant aussi des retombées économiques pour les familles locales.

M’hamid est un lieu mystique qui aide et inspire beaucoup d’artistes nationaux et internationaux dans la création. Une inspiration à travers l’expérience du style de vie traditionnel et unique que ces nomades adoptent dans cette région du Maroc. Les visiteurs et les communautés locales profitent de ces créations, sorties tout juste des ateliers, à travers les expositions et la vente de ces  produits.

Environnement:

La Vallée du Draa est connue depuis longtemps pour ses oasis et palmeraies. Cet environnement a façonné le mode de vie de ses habitants; Ces derniers cultivent des dattiers, des arbres fruitiers, des légumes et des céréales. Mais au cours de la dernière décennie, ce melting pot d’éthnicités souffre de la désertification tout en se félicitant de plus en plus de touristes. Ce tourisme qui est désormais considéré comme l’outil de développement le plus important de la région.

Au cours des 30 dernières années, la sécheresse persistante a forcé de nombreux nomades a abandonner leurs méthodes traditionnelles. Compte tenu de l’ampleur du défi, « Le Petit Prince » tente, à travers des actions de sensibilisation et à la ré-végétation de l’écosystème local, de faciliter le développement économique de la région de M’hamid.

Dans le cadre du concept Taragalte et en Partenariat avec le Sahara Roots et l’association Zaila, nous (population locale, touristes et festivaliers) plantons des arbres, pour lutter contre la désertification, tout en informant au fur et à mesure les touristes, sur la fragilité de la faune et de la flore dans le désert. Cette initiative jusque là s’est avéré extrêmement fructueuse.

Le Festival Taragalte:

Le festival Taragalte met l’accent sur le rajeunissement des échanges culturels entre les communautés du Sahara de l’Afrique du Nord et le reste du monde.

Sur ses 3 jours de performances, nous présenterons de célèbres légendes musicales, partagerons des histoires et combinerons de nombreuses coutumes afin d’apporter vie à ce passé perdu auparavant. Pendant cette période, le Petit Prince devient la résidence d’artistes et un carrefour de rencontres, d’échanges, d’idées et de co-création de nouveautés artistiques.